Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation


EstablishedNovember 1989
Membership21 Members
Executive DirectorAlan Bollard

APEC is an intergovernmental forum of countries situated in the Asia-Pacific region. The APEC is the biggest highest-level economic forum in the Asia- Pacific Region.

Establishment of the Forum:

The APEC was established in 1989 with the 12 member states. And later in 1991 China, Hong-Kong, and Taiwan joined the group. In 1993 Mexico and Papua New Guinea joined the group. In 1994 Chile joined the group, and in 1998 Peru, Russia, and Vietnam Joined the APEC.

Members of the APEC:

Currently, The APEC comprises 21 member states.

flag-iconChileflag-iconNew Zealand
flag-iconHong Kong
flag-iconPapua New Guineaflag-iconSouth Korea
flag-iconRussiaflag-iconUnited States

The Objectives of APEC:

The main objective of APEC is to promote the Free trade throughout the Asia-Pacific region. As the tagline of APEC says "Advancing free trade for Asia-Pacific Prosperity."


The headquarter of the APEC is situated in Singapore.

India and APEC:

Currently, India is not the member of APEC but applied for the membership. And lots of APEC member countries including maximum founding member countries of APEC supporting India's bid for APEC membership but, some countries blocking India's bid saying that India does not share the Pacific ocean region, whereas all the current member countries share the Pacific ocean region. India is trying to get membership of APEC, and Including India in APEC will definitely benefit the whole region because India is the fastest growing economy with the largest young population in the World.

Related Topics