Association of South-East Asian Nations


EstablishedAugust 8, 1967
Membership10 Members
HeadquarterJakarta, Indonesia.
Secretary GeneralH.E. Dato Lim Jock Hoi (from Brunei)

It is a South-East Asian regional intergovernmental organisation.The name ASEAN stands for Association of South-East Asian Nations. The name itself says that it is a association of South-East Asian nations.

Establishment of the Forum:

ASEAN was created on August 8, 1967 with five members Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei then joined on January 7, 1984, Vietnam on July 28, 1995, Laos and Myanmar on July 23, 1997, and Cambodia on April 30, 1999. There is a term ASEAN plus six. It is the further integration to improve existing ties with China, Japan, South Korea, India, Australia, and New Zealand.

Members of the ASEAN:

Currently, ASEAN comprising ten member states, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.


The Objectives of ASEAN:

The main objectives of the group are to cooperate and facilitate economic, Political, Security, Educational, and Cultural relations among its members and with other Asian countries. ASEAN is a major partner of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO).


The headquarter of the ASEAN is situated in Jakarta, Indonesia.

India and ASEAN:

India is not a member of ASEAN, but ASEAN is in the focal point of India's Act-East policy and the relation between India and ASEAN countries are very good. India is the strategic and dialogue partner of ASEAN and also the full member of ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF).

Related Topics