G4 Nations


Membership4 Members
HeadquarterNo Headquarter.
Secretary GeneralNo Secretary General.

G4 is a group comprising four member countries Brazil, Germany, India, and Japan.

Establishment of the Forum:

The group was founded in 2005.

Members of the G4 Nations:

G4 nations is a group of Four members.

Member states:


The Objectives of Forum:

The main aim of the G4 nations is to support each other’s bid for permanent seat in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). According to the G4 nations, it is very important to expand the UNSC, in order to enhance the equitable representation of different regions such as Africa, Asia-Pacific, and Latin-America, as well the reform of UNSC will ensure the effectiveness of the organisation.

Current, Permanent Members of the UNSC:

Currently, there are five permanent members of the UNSC with Veto Power France, China, Russia, The UK, and The US. Out of five permanent members of the UNSC, three members France, The UK, and The US have maintained their seats since the UN founding and the People's Republic of China replaced the Republic of China in 1971 whereas Russia replaced the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) in 1991.


G4 nations don't have headquarter.


Some countries are opposing the bids of G4 nations in UNSC. There is a movement named Uniting for Consensus, also known as Coffee Club, that developed in 1990 in opposition to the possible expansion of permanent seats in the UNSC and currently, its aim is to counter the bids for permanent seats by G4 nations in the UNSC. The countries opposing the bids of G4 nations for permanent seats in the UNSC.

Countries opposing the bids of Brazil are Argentina, Colombia, Mexico, Peru, and Uruguay.

Countries opposing the bids of Germany are Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Italy, Namibia, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, and Spain.

Countries opposing the bids of Japan are China, North Korea, and South Korea.

Countries opposing the bids of India are China and Pakistan.

India and G4 Nations:

India is a member of G4 nations and only two countries are strongly opposing the bid of India for permanent membership of the UNSC.

Related Topics