G7 Nations


Membership7 Members
HeadquarterNo Headquarter.
Secretary GeneralNo Secretary General.

It is an international intergovernmental organisation consists of 7 member states.

Establishment of the Forum:

Initially founded as G6 in 1975.

In 1976 Canada joined this group and this group became G7.

In 1998 Russia joined this group and this group became G8.

In 2014 Russia suspended from the group due to the annexation of Crimea and again the group became G7.

Members of the G7 Nations:

As the name the group suggests, it's a group of seven, so G7 comprising seven member states Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, The United Kingdom, and The United States.

Member states:


The Objectives of Forum:

Initially, the main objective of the group was to facilitate shared macroeconomic initiatives due to the energy crisis in the 1970s and collapse of the exchange rate in 1971. But now the objective of this group is to prevent the global economy from entering a recession. This group also supports the Climate Change Movement, Gender Equality, and Disarmament Programs.


G7 nations don't have the headquarter.

India and G7 Nations:

Currently, India is not a member of G7 states.

International Organisations

G7 or G8 Nations

Related Topics